Internet Hall of Fame Innovators

The third and final part of my Internet Hall of Fame series. Today, the innovators:

  • Mitchell Baker –  instrumental player in the development of Mozilla and founding chairperson of the Mozilla Foundation, Baker helped legitimize Open Source Internet applications
  • Tim Berners-Lee – invented the WWW
  • Robert Cailliau – developed with Tim Berners-Lee, a hypertext system for accessing documentation
  • Van Jacobson – his algorithms for the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) helped solve the problem of congestion
  • Larry Landweber – helped establish the first network gateways between the US and countries in Europe, Asia and Latin America
  • Paul Mockapetris – invented the DNS
  • Craig Newmark – founder of Craigslist
  • Raymond Tomlinson – inventing network electronic mail and choosing the “@” sign in emails
  • Linus Torvalds – creator of the Linux operating system
  • Philip Zimmermann –  creator of Pretty Good Privacy (PGP)

No doubt many more names over time will be added to this category.