Who have the parties selected in seats they currently hold?

I thought it would be interesting to look at who has been selected as new by political parties in seats they currently hold. The selections are:


  1. Bay of Plenty – Todd Muller, former Fonterra Group Director, Apata Chief Executive and Zespri General Manager
  2. Clutha-Southland – Todd Barclay, former ministerial staffer and Corporate Affairs Manager for Philip Morris
  3. Hunua – Andrew Bayly, charted accountant, merchant banker, company chair, former British Parachute regiment, dragged a sled to the South Pole
  4. Invercargill – Sarah Dowie, lawyer, former DOC manager, deputy chair of a conservation trust
  5. Kaikoura – Stuart Smith, wine grower, former Chair NZ Winegrowers, Chair of an irrigation scheme
  6. Napier – Wayne Walford, CEO HB Chamber of Commerce and previously Waikato Chamber of Commerce
  7. Taranaki-King County – Barbara Kuriger, farmer, 2012 Dairy Woman of the Year, Director of DairyNZ
  8. Waimakariri – Matthew Doocey, Canterbury DHB Manager, Healthcare manager
  9. Wairarapa – Alastair Scott, wine maker, Chairman of a cage free egg farm, Irrigation trustee, Transpower director, charity trustee
  10. Whangarei – Shane Reti, medical practitioner, Harkness Fellowship to Harvard, Northland DHB member


  1. Kelston – Carmel Sepuloni, CEO of a Pacific NGO supporting diabled and elderly, forrmer teacher
  2. Manukau East – Jenny Salesa, policy analyst, Chair of a Tongan Youth Trust

Maori Party

  1. Tamaki Makaurau – Rangi McLean, winner NZ Maori Business Award, public health adviser,
  2. Te Tai Hauauru – Chris McKenzie, former ministerial staffer, treaty negotiator, education manager, teacher


  1. Epsom – David Seymour, former think tank staffer, ministerial staffer

The 10 new National Electorate MPs (if they retain the seats) are a good variety of business, health, law, conservation and agriculture in my opinion.

Comments (14)

Login to comment or vote