New Cabinet

Labour have elected a Cabinet and it has increased from 18 to 21. It will shrink to 20 with Sutton retiring at year end.

So Ministers out are Hobbs, Swain, Hawkins and Sutton (at year end) plus Turia had not been replaced, and neither had Tamihere.

The six new Cabinet Ministers are:

Clayton Cosgrove
Hon David Cunliffe
Lianne Dalziel
Nanaia Mahuta
Hon Damien O’Connor
David Parker

All six are reasonably capable, and will add some vitality to the Cabinet. I am surprised that Tim Barnett is not there as he has been one of the most successful backbenchers in recent times.

Now the interesting thing is how big will the Executive get? A Cabinet of 20 plus Winston and Dunne outside is already 22.

Now if no Ministers outside are sacked you need to reappoint Tizard, Samuels, Duynhoven, Field, Ririnui and maybe Okeroa. Possible also roles for CHadwick and Barnett. Now that could get the executive up to a record 30.

Comments (15)

Login to comment or vote

%d bloggers like this: