South Island Results

Bob Parker has won the Christchurch Mayoralty. Exact figures not yet known.

1.43 – Parker 46,000, Wood 31,000. So much for a close race.

Results now online.

Jo Giles (former ACT) also got 14,000 votes for Mayor so CR Mayoral candidates did very well. The street cleaner got a massive 4,500 votes. Superb. Kyle Chapman got 673 and is third to last. Pity.

Tony Milne missed out on Council but got a creditable third place just 700 votes back. People say he campaigned very hard.

The Councillors are:

Independent – 7
Independent Citizens – 3
Chch 2021 – 2

Most of the independents are moderate to centre right, so not a good result for Christchurch 2021.

The Buller Mayor, Pat O’Dea has been defeated. He has been Mayor forever – he was Mayor when I was at university with his nephew 20 years ago!

Shadbolt has easily won again in Invercargill. No Dunedin result yet thanks to STV, but Peter Chin will win I am sure.

What’s interesting is that the five major cities – Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin are now headed by Mayors who are not from the left. In fact three of them are former National MPs or candidates!

Just looking at Canterbury Regional Council results. The Labour aligned Christchurch 2021 ticket won only two out of the eight positions they contested.  This may make it difficult for Kerry Burke to hang on as Chair.

Comments (15)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment

%d bloggers like this: