The Central South Island seats

Another nice blue area, but with only three seats.

Selwyn replaces the old Rakaia seat, but on very different boundaries. On the revised boundaries National won the party vote by 15% in 2005, and in 2008 it went to a 29% gap. The Connell majority of 6,700 blossoms into a 10,200 majority for Amy Adams.

Rangitata is an oddly shaped seat that includes Timaru and Ashburton. National were 7% ahead on party vote in 2005 and 14% in 2008. Goodhew’s also gets a majority of 7,600.

Waitaki is the old Otago less Queenstown and moving North. In 2005 the party vote gap was 8% and in 2008 it is 21%. Jacqui Dean holds off David Parker again with a massive 10,000+ majority, up from 4,300 in 2005.