The new MPs

So who are the new MPs?


  1. Steven Joyce – List – likely to be the Honourable Steven Joyce shortly
  2. Sam Lotu-liga – Maungakiekie – hugely respected and over-turned a huge majority. One day will be National's first Pacific Minister.
  3. Hekia Parata -very very well connected in Maoridom. Not going to be a Minister straight away but will be talking to the Maori Party a lot.
  4. Melissa Lee – already highprofile as the host of Asian downunder.
  5. Kanwal JS Bakshi – needs to convince everyone that the immigration issues raised before the election are not going to be a problem. Adds diversity as New Zealand's first Sikh MP.
  6. Paul Quinn – Paul will be a good parliamentary brawler in the debating chamber and also be a most welcome addition to the Parliamentary Debating Team. Hekia will beat him into Cabinet, but not by much I reckon.
  7. Michael Woodhouse -Dunedin's new National's List MP. His private sector health background will see him on 's speed dial.
  8. Simon Bridges – Tauranga – the giant killer. Simon will be the most popular MP in Parliament (including with Labour MPs) for killing Winston off in Tauranga.
  9. Amy Adams – Selwyn – the selection battle was harder than the general election battle. Well thought of by those who have dealt with her professionally.
  10. Louise Upston – Taupo. Achieved a huge majority and should keep the seat for the foreseeable future.
  11. Todd McClay – Rotorua. Also achieved a good majority but not as safe as Taupo so will focus on his seat. Can now bring his father out of protective 🙂
  12. Tim Macindoe – Hamilton West. This was Tim's third go at Parliament and would have been his last if he had not made it – but he did. Will be very focused on Hamilton issues.
  13. Aaron Gilmore – List – didn't win East but with a likely Dalziel retirement in 2011, will go all out to snatch it next time.
  14. Nikki Kaye – . Arguably the most popular victory in the country, after Tauranga. I had one former Clark staffer say something along the lines of “Thank God for that” when it was confirmed Nikki had won AUckland Central. Auckland Central remains a red/green seat and Nikki will be very focused on being an outstanding local MP to retain it in 2011.
  15. Cam Calder – List – will have a nervous ten days waiting to find out if he keeps his list place or not.
  16. Jonathan Young – New Plymouth – one of the biggest surprises was his defeat of Harry Duynhoven. A very genial and dedicated worker who put in the hard yards.


  1. Rajen Prasad – List- may have been a Minister if they had won but now is just going to be a wasted figure in Opposition as his age suggests he is here for one or two terms only. Helped Labour with the Indian vote.
  2. Jacinda Ardern – List- highly respected and regarded and will be a very effective Opposition MP. A near cert for Cabinet once Labour gets back in. Has international responsibilities so may have a lower domestic profile initially.
  3. – List – a very good fundraiser for Labour. Don't know enough on whether he will suit the parliamentary environment.
  4. Phil Twyford – List- already a seasoned politician and another future Minister. He will rise quickly.
  5. Carol Beaumont – lost what was an ultra safe seat for Labour. Mixed views on her tenure with the . Will perform better than some of the other unionists turned MPs though.
  6. Kelvin Davis – List – Labour have lost Mahara Okeroa and gained Kelvin Davis. That is a good exchange.
  7. Carmel Sepuloni – a lot of people are excited about her. Young, female, Pacific and a bit dynamic I hear.
  8. Stuart Nash – like Twyford, very likely to rise through the ranks. Has some real charisma.
  9. Clare Curran – Dunedin South. CHallenge for her is to establish herself an an excellent MP and disassociate herself from previous controversy.
  10. Grant Robertson – Wellington Central – Grant will be one of the strongest Opposition MPs in attacking the Government. 100% political. Likely unoffical ringleader of the 2008 intake.
  11. Chris Hipkins – Rimutaka. Like Grant, also a 9th floor staffer. He won Rimutaka narrowly and will be focused on building up that majority.
  12. Iain Lees-Galloway – Palmerston North. Did well to beat Malcolm Plimmer who was ahead in a newspaper poll and had high name awareness having stood previously. The only seat Labour won which surprised me.  Don't know much about him.
  13. Brendon Burns – Christchurch Central. Very talented, but not universally popular. Main focus will be on building up his majority, but likely to have a backroom role in Labour communications despite being a new MP.


  1. Kevin Hague – former CEO of a District Health Board. A strong performer who should do well and may even appeal to some non Greens voters.
  2. Catherine Delahunty – well liked within Greens, but opponents will enjoy citing some of her radical previous statements.


  1. Roger Douglas – needs no introduction from me. Key challenge for Key and Hide is to find him something useful to do.
  2. John Boscawen – will be prominent over repealing the Electoral Finance Act.
  3. David Garrett – will not be a minister but may end up having some influence on Government's and order policies


  1. Rahui Katene – Te Tai Tonga -main challenge is to emulate her four colleagues and take the seat from a narrow victory to ultra-safe.

Comments (14)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment

%d bloggers like this: