The Christchurch zones

Gerry Brownlee says:

residents will be able to visit the website and enter their address to find out what zone their property has been mapped into, and download a fact sheet on what it means for them. Residents can also contact the government helpline on 0800 779 997 if they are unable to access the website or they want more information.

There are four zones for the city:

  • Red – Fucked – Govt to offer to buy property within 8 weeks. Resident has nine months to sell full property or land only. 5,000 homes
  • Green – Fine – can start rebuilding, 100,000 homes
  • Orange – Fluctuant – further engineering investigation needed, 10,000 homes
  • White – Forthcoming- not yet mapped, mainly CBD and Port Hills non-residential areas.

It’s good to have certainty for the 105,000 in the red and green zones, who can now make decisions. Hopefully the remaining 10,000 will be in the same situation before too long.

Comments (58)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment

%d bloggers like this: