Fairfax missing some Maori MPs

Fairfax says (correctly) few Maori Mps have been elected in general seats. However they miss a few out.

Elected Maori Members of Parliament in NZ, excluding Maori electorates

1993: Sandra Rose Te Hakamatua Lee-Vercoe,  Auckland Central; Winston Peters, Tauranga

1996: Winston Peters, Tauranga

1999: Georgina Beyer, Wairarapa; Winston Peters, Tauranga

2002: Winston Peters, Tauranga

2008: Paula Lee Bennett, Waitakere.

2011: Paula Lee Bennett, Waitakere; Louisa Hareruia Wall, Manurewa

They missed out Simon Bridges (Tauranga), Mike Sabin (Northland) and Jami-Lee Ross (Botany).

UPDATE: Also missed out Ben Couch (Wairarapa) and Rex Austin (Awarua off memory). Also Sir James Carroll (Waiapu).

Comments (20)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment