The Queen’s Birthday Honours List 2014

The official list is here.


Sir Ronald Powell Carter, KNZM, of Auckland. For services to New Zealand.


The Honourable Susan Gwynfa Mary Glazebrook, of Wellington. For services to the judiciary.

The Honourable Lowell Patria Goddard, QC, of Wellington. For services to the law.

Ms Patricia Lee Reddy, of Wellington. For services to the arts and business.


Mr Graeme Seton Avery, ONZM, of Hastings. For services to business and sport.

Mr Richard John Hayes, MNZM, of Te Anau. For services to Search and Rescue and the community.

Dr John Antony Hood, of Shipton Under Wychwood, United Kingdom. For services to tertiary education.

Mr Robert John Stewart, ONZM, of Christchurch. For services to manufacturing and the community.

Stuff reports:

Engineering supremo Sir Ron Carter has joined New Zealand’s most elite club, courtesy of the Queen’s Birthday honours.

Carter has been made a member of the Order of New Zealand, the country’s highest honour, which recognises outstanding service to the country and its people.

It is limited to 20 living members and with Carter’s addition there are now 17.

Carter, who was knighted for his service to engineering in 1998, is recognised in today’s honours for his contribution to infrastructure planning, governance, business and education.

His name is synonymous with Beca, a company that was tiny when he joined in 1959, but which became a major engineering force with its involvement in projects such as the Tiwai Pt aluminium smelter, the Tasman Pulp and Paper Mill, and the Sky Tower.

He has served on the royal commission inquiring into the Christchurch earthquakes, chaired the Committee for Auckland, which laid the groundwork for the Auckland Council, and created a consortium in Auckland that helped position iwi as significant investors.

Today’s honours include three new dames and four knights.

Two of the dames are judges. Justice Susan Glazebrook, who serves on the Supreme Court bench and has served on many international human rights and law bodies, is honoured for her services to the judiciary.

Justice Lowell Goddard, who chaired the Independent Police Conduct Authority from 2007-12, is recognised for services to the law.

The other dame is Film Commission chairwoman Patsy Reddy, who is also deputy chairwoman of the New Zealand Transport Agency and chief Crown negotiator for Treaty settlements in Bay of Plenty. Her award is for services to the arts and business.

Knighthoods have gone to helicopter pilot Richard Hayes, businessman and sports administrator Graeme Avery, education leader John Hood and manufacturer Robert Stewart.

Hayes, from Te Anau, is one of the country’s best-known helicopter pilots, and is honoured with a knighthood for his services to the search and rescue movement and to the community.

Avery’s award recognises his services to business and sport. He has been involved with athletics for more than 40 years and with exports for more than 50 years through his former medical publishing business Adis International and his wine business Sileni Estates.

Hood is knighted for his services to tertiary education. The University of Auckland vice-chancellor from 1999 to 2004, he strengthened research throughout the institution during his time in charge and set up a new business school. He is president and chief executive of the Robertson Foundation in New York.

Stewart, the founder of Skope Industries which manufactures low energy commercial refrigerators that are exported around the world, is recognised for his services to manufacturing and the community. He has chaired the Health Research Council since 2002 and is well known for his philanthropic deeds in Canterbury.

Good to see someone who is not a politician appointed to the Order of New Zealand. Of their 17 members, seven are former or current politicians.

Comments (21)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment