The Maori Party list

Stuff reports:

Teacher and mother of nine Marama Fox and former party parliamentary staffer Chis Mckenzie are leading the Maori Party’s party list behind Co-Leader Waiariki MP Te Ururoa Flavell.

The list released this evening has Mr Flavell at number one, Ikaroa Rawhiti candidate Mrs Fox at number two, Te Tai Hauauru candidate Chris McKenzie at number three and Tuhoe activist Tame Iti at number seven.

Co vice president Donna Gardiner said youth was well represented on the 24 strong list with six of the top ten under 45.

The two youngest on the list, Reverend Te Hira Paenga who is facing off against Hone Harawira in Te Tai Tokerau and Anaru Kaipo standing in Whangarei were both 32 years of age.

 Maori Party List

1. Te Ururoa Flavell (Waiariki)
2. Marama Fox (Ikaroa Rawhiti)
3. Chris McKenzie – Te Tai Hauauru
4. Te Hira Paenga (Te Tai Tokerau)
5. Ngaire Button (Te Tai Tonga)
6. Nancy Tuaine (Whanganui)
7. Tame Iti
8. Eraia Kiel
9. Anaru Kaipo (Whangarei)
10. Raewyn Bhana (Manurewa)

It is possible the Maori Party may get some List MPs. If they only retain one electorate seat, then a 2.0% party vote would get them two List MPs on top of that.

Comments (13)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment