The ejection list

Winston Peters has compiled a list of MPs that have been ejected from the House since 2008. He thinks that the fact twice as many opposition MPs get booted as government MPs is the fault of the Speaker. This is nonsense – it is the fault of the MPs.

Opposition MPs often try to get booted out, as a way to get publicity. I bet if you look at the 2000 – 2008 period you’ll also find more opposition MPs were booted.

Anyway which MPs have been ejected since 2008, and how often. They are:

  • Trevor Mallard 10
  • Winston Peters 6
  • Tau Henare 3
  • Jonathan Coleman 2
  • Chris Hipkins 2
  • Paul Quinn 1
  • Phil Heatley 1
  • Clare Curran 1
  • Hone Harawira 1
  • Bill English 1
  • David Parker 1
  • Metiria Turei 1
  • Steven Joyce 1
  • Grant Robertson 1

The real data is that of the 32 ejections, half have been Mallard or Peters. Peters was not even in for three of those years. Blaming the Speaker for Mallard and Peters continually getting ejected is like blaming the victim of an assault for being assaulted.

If you exclude the two MPs who regularly deliberately try and get ejected as a publicity stunt, then there have been 16 ejections in six and a half years.  Nine have been National MPs, five have been Labour MPs and one Green MP and one Mana MP.

Comments (22)

Login to comment or vote