A gaggle of Labour Mayors

Stuff reports:

The Government has appointed a working group for its Three Waters reforms to settle issues over how four new water entities will be run.

The group, announced by Local Government Minister Nanaia Mahuta, will consist of nine mayors – including Auckland’s Phil Goff, Christchurch’s Lianne Dalziel, Lower Hutt’s Campbell Barry, and Nelson’s Rachel Reese – and nine Māori representatives.

90% of Councils are against, so they stack the working group with Labour Party Mayors – Goff, Dalziel and Barry. Why have they done this?

As Labour Party members they are bound to vote in accordance with Labour Party policy as stated in Rule 95(e) of Labour’s constitution. Their job is not to represent their Councils to the Government, but to give cover to the Government when it proceeds with stealing their three waters assets.

If they vote against Labour, they risk not just deselection, but expulsion. So anyone who thinks this working group is going to come up with any substantial changes is dreaming.