Worthy Champions

The Herald reports:

The women were the big winners at last night’s , with champion shot-putter Valerie Vili taking home the annual supreme title and retired rowing champs Caroline and Georgina Evers-Swindell being named Sports Champions of the Decade.

The golden girls – now Georgina Earl and Caroline Meyer – enjoyed a golden night when they headed off other Halberg Award winners from 2000-09, including Vili.

I think it is going to be a very long time before people stop thinking of Mrs Earl and Mrs Meyer as the !

So the Halberg decade winners have been:

  1. 1900s – 1905 All Blacks
  2. 1910s – Anthony Wilding (tennis)
  3. 1920s – George Nepia (if you have to ask which sport, you are in the wrong country)
  4. 1930s – Jack Lovelock
  5. 1940s – Bert Sutcliffe (cricket)
  6. 1950s – Yvette Williams (athletics)
  7. 1960s – Peter Snell (who also won the century award)
  8. 1970s – John Walker
  9. 1980s – Sir Richard Hadlee
  10. 1990s – Danyon Loader (swimming)
  11. 2000s – Caroline and Georgina Evers-Swindell

Comments (101)

Login to comment or vote