The 2012 Halberg Finalists

So who do people think will win the ? The finalists are:

Sportswoman of the Year:

  • Lisa Carrington (Canoeing)
  • Valerie Adams (Athletics)
  • Lydia Ko (Golf)
  • Sarah Walker (BMX)

My heart says Lisa Carrington but my head says Lydia Ko. Golf is a more universal sport than canoeing, and being the top ranked amateur at age 15 is amazing. All four nominees are worthy finalists.

Sportsman of the Year:

  • Mahe Drysdale (Rowing)
  • Andrew Nicholson (Equestrian)
  • Simon van Velthooven (Cycling)
  • Richie McCaw (Rugby)

I think probably Mahe Drysdale?

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year Award:

  • Cameron Leslie (Para Swimming)
  • Mary Fisher (Para Swimming)
  • Phillipa Gray (Para Cycling)
  • Sophie Pascoe (Para Swimming)

Can only be Sophie.

Team of the Year:

  • NZ Men’s Double Scull – Joseph Sullivan and Nathan Cohen (Rowing)
  • NZ Men’s Pair – Eric Murray & Hamish Bond (Rowing)
  • NZ Women’s 470 Team – Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie (Sailing)
  • NZ Men’s 49er Class Team – Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (Sailing)
  • All Blacks (Rugby)

I think Murray and Bond would be favourites.

Emerging Talent:

  • Andrew McKenzie (Sailing)
  • Lydia Ko (Golf)
  • Dylan Kennett (Track Cycling)
  • Anton Cooper (Mountain Biking)


Coach of the Year:

  • Gordon Walker (Canoeing)
  • Richard Tonks (Rowing)
  • Calvin Ferguson (Rowing)
  • Nathan Handley (Sailing)

Probably Gordon Walker I’d say.

Make your picks below.

Comments (17)

Login to comment or vote