John Key’s Ministry

John Key has announced his Ministry. There are 28 Ministers:

  1. Hon John Key, PM, Tourism
  2. Hon Bill English, Deputy PM, Finance, Infrastructure
  3. Hon Gerry Brownlee, Leader of the House, Economic Development, Energy & Resources,
  4. Hon Simon Power, Justice, SOEs, Commerce, Law Commission, Associate Finance, Deputy Leader of the House
  5. Hon Tony Ryall, Health, State Services
  6. Hon Dr Nick Smith, Environment, Climate Change, ACC
  7. Hon Judith Collins, Police, Corrections, Veterans’ Affairs
  8. Hon Anne Tolley, Education, Tertiary Education, ERO
  9. Hon Christopher Finlayson, Attorney-General, Treaty Negotiations, Arts & Culture
  10. Hon David Carter, Agriculture, Biosecurity, Forestry
  11. Hon Murray McCully, Foreign Affairs, Sport & Rec, Rugby World Cup
  12. Hon Tim Groser, Trade Negotiations, Conservation, Associate Foreign, Associate Climate Change
  13. Hon Dr Wayne Mapp, Defence, Research, Science & Tech, Associate Econ Dev, Associate Tertiary Ed
  14. Hon Steven Joyce, Transport, Comms/IT, Associate Finance, Associate Infrastructure
  15. Hon Georgina te Heuheu, Courts, Pacific Island Affairs, Disarmament & Arms Control, Associate Maori
  16. Hon Paula Bennett, Social Development & Employment, Disability Issues, Youth Affairs
  17. Hon Phil Heatley, Fisheries, Housing
  18. Hon Pansy Wong, Ethnic Affairs, Women’s Affairs, Associate ACC, Associate Energy
  19. Hon Dr Jonathan Coleman, Immigration, Broadcasting, Associate Tourism, Associate Health
  20. Hon Kate Wilkinson, Labour, Food Safety, Associate Immigration
  21. Hon Maurice Williamson, Building & Construction, Customs, Statistics, Small Business
  22. Hon Dr Richard Worth, Internal Affairs, Land Information, Archives NZ, National Library, Associate Justice
  23. Hon John Carter, Civil Defence, Senior Citizens, Racing, Associate Local Government
  24. Hon Rodney Hide, Local Government, Regulatory Reform, Associate Commerce
  25. Hon Heather Roy, Consumer Affairs, Associate Defence, Associate Educations
  26. Hon Dr Pita Sharples, Maori Affairs, Associate Education, Associate Correction
  27. Hon Tariana Turia, Community and Voluntary Sector, Associate Health, Associate Social Development and Employment
  28. Hon Peter Dunne, Revenue, Associate Health

I’ll comment on the choices in another post. Key has also confirmed that Lockwood Smith will be nominated as Speaker.

For those into demographics, they are:

  • Eight female Ministers
  • Four Maori Ministers
  • One Asian Minister

Comments (40)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment