Which MPs can not vote for themselves?

Having seen some of the tension in Ohariu about who does and does not live in the electorate, it got me curious about which MPs are standing in a seat where they are unable to vote for themselves. Based on what I could find out, this is my list of MPs who will not be able to vote for themselves in this election:

MP Voting Standing
Tony Ryall Tauranga Bay of Plenty
Michael Woodhouse Dunedin South Dunedin North
David Parker Dunedin North Epsom
John Key Epsom Helensville
Ross Robertson Hunua Manukau East
Cam Calder North Shore Manurewa
David Clendon Tamaki Makaurau Mt Albert
Jackie Blue Auckland Central Mt Roskill
Phil Goff Hunua Mt Roskill
David Cunliffe Auckland Central New Lynn
Charles Chauvel Wellington Central Ohariu
Gareth Hughes Wellington Central Ohariu
Katrina Shanks Wellington Central Ohariu
Shane Jones Te Tai Tokerau Tamaki Makaurau
Pita Sharples Te Tai Tokerau Tamaki Makaurau
Shane Ardern Whanganui Taranaki King-Country
Rick Barker Tukituki Taranaki King-Country

In four electorates there are multiple MPs standing who do not live there – Mt Roskill, Ohariu, Tamaki Makaurau and Taranaki King-Country. I haven’t gone into the reasons for each case, but in some cases they have a very good reason. For example Shane Ardern has lived and farmed in Opunake for several decades and that was in the TKC boundaries when he first got elected. The boundaries has since shifted, so hence he is now just outside the electorate.

Some like John Key have never lived in their electorate, while others like Phil Goff lived there initially and then moved out.

The most geographically remote MP will be David Parker who is enrolled in Dunedin North but standing in Epsom!

Comments (12)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment