The shape of the Government

What we know so far is:

  • Jacinda Ardern PM
  • offered Deputy PM
  • Three other Cabinet Ministers
  • Greens will have three Ministers outside Cabinet
  • One Under-Secretary and one Green Under-Secretary

I presume the three Cabinet Ministers will be Shane Jones, Ron Mark and Tracey Martin.

The Greens Ministers will presumably be James Shaw, Marama Davidson and Julie-Anne Genter.

Labour has 16 spots on Cabinet. Their caucus elects them but they tend to follow the leader’s nominations. Their current top 16 in terms of House seating are:

  1. Jacinda Ardern
  2. Kelvin Davis
  3. Andrew Little
  4. Grant
  5. Phil Twyford
  6. Megan Woods
  7. Chris Hipkins
  8. Carmel Sepuloni
  9. David Clark
  10. Nanaia Mahuta
  11. Stuart Nash
  12. Meka Whaitiri
  13. Iain Lees-Galloway
  14. William Su’a Sio
  15. Faafoi

It is likely Trevor Mallard will become Speaker. Two Government MPs will also be Deputy Speaker and and one Opposition MP will be an Assistant Speaker also.

Comments (194)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment

%d bloggers like this: