Which Labour MPs are out of favour

It is interesting to look at which MPs have not been made Ministers, despite having been in Parliament for three or more terms. This suggests they may never become a Minister.

  • Louisa Wall, in her 5th term
  • Rino Tirikatene, in his 4th term
  • Adrian Rurawhe, in his 3rd term

As we have seen a first term MP and several second term MPs becomes Ministers, it is safe to conclude the three above probably never will.

How about the 2017 intake. Let’s look at what has happened to them:

  • Kiri Allan – Cabinet
  • Ginny Andersen
  • Tamati Coffey
  • Liz Craig
  • Paul Eagle
  • Willie Jackson – Cabinet
  • Anahila Kanongata’s-Suisuiki
  • Marja Lubeck
  • Jo Luxton
  • Kieran McAnulty – Chief Whip
  • Greg O’Connor
  • Willow-Jean Prime – Junior Whip
  • Priyance Radhakrishan – Minister
  • Deborah Russel – Under-Secretary
  • Jamie Strange
  • Jan Tinetti – Cabinet
  • Angie Warren-Clark
  • Duncan Webb – Junior Whip

The ones in bold are those who have not got a role in the executive, or are a whip or presiding officer. If Labour gets a third term, some may get there. But there are a lot of 2020 intake MPs who will be keen to get there also.

Comments (61)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment

%d bloggers like this: