Parliament Today 17 October 2013

October 17th, 2013 at 12:30 pm by Jordan.M

Questions for Oral Answer

Questions to Ministers 2.00PM-3.00PM

  1. GRANT ROBERTSON to the Prime Minister: Does he stand by his statement yesterday that Hon John Banks is a “credible” and “trustworthy” individual?
  2. METIRIA TUREI to the Minister for Economic Development:Has Cabinet discussed delaying the passage of the New Zealand International Convention Centre Bill until the Hon John Banks prosecution is resolved; if not, why not?
  3. NICKY WAGNER to the Minister of Finance: What progress is the Government making with its multi-billion dollar infrastructure investment programme, as part of its wider plan to build a more productive and competitive economy?
  4. Hon DAVID PARKER to the Minister of Finance: Does he agree with the Dominion Post report that “Bill English was gushing about the NZ Super Fund yesterday” saying it was “one of the best-structured sovereign wealth funds in the world”?
  5. MELISSA LEE to the Minister for Social Development: What reports has she received on the progress of the Government’s welfare reforms to date?
  6. Hon DAMIEN O’CONNOR to the Minister for Primary Industries: Does he stand by all his statements?
  7. JAN LOGIE to the Minister for Social Development: When she said last month, “for every example that the member can give, I can give another 10 of people who are grateful for the help that they are getting” was she saying that it is acceptable that a large portion of people are not getting the help they are entitled to?
  8. DENIS O’ROURKE to the Minister of Immigration: How many people are currently classified as unlawfully in New Zealand, and what steps, if any, has he taken to reduce that number?
  9. Hon RUTH DYSON to the Minister of Conservation: When was he first informed by the Department of Conservation that they were considering contributing to any submission on the Tukituki Catchment Proposal that might include nitrogen and phosphorous management?
  10. Peseta SAM LOTU-IIGA to the Minister of Health: What progress is the Government making on its Rheumatic Fever Programme?
  11. Dr DAVID CLARK to the Minister for Small Business: What advice, if any, has he received on the impact of fraud, corruption and dishonesty on small business and what has he done about it?
  12. SCOTT SIMPSON to the Minister of Corrections: What recent announcements has she made on improving the safety of Corrections staff?

Today Labour are asking five questions. These are about John Banks’ resignation as a Minister, the NZ Super Fund, The Ministry of Primary Industries, the Tukituki catchment proposal, and dishonesty in Small Business. The Greens are asking two questions today, these are about the Sky City Casino deal, and access to social welfare benefits. New Zealand First is asking about immigration.

Patsy of the day award goes to Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga for Question 10: What progress is the Government making on its Rheumatic Fever Programme?

Government Bills 3.00PM – 6.00PM

1.Telecommunications (Interception Capability and Security) Bill - Committee Stage

2. Veterans’ Support Bill – First Reading

The Telecommunications (Interception Capability and Security) Bill is being guided through the house by the Minister for ICT, Amy Adams.  This bill seeks to repeal and replace the Telecommunications (Interception Capability) Act 2004 in order to ensure that interception obligations applying to the telecommunications industry are clear, do not impose unnecessary compliance costs, and are sufficiently flexible to respond to current and future operational needs and technological developments. It also seeks to require network operators to engage with the Government on network security matters, inform the Government of certain proposed decisions, courses of action, or changes in relation to an area of “specified security interest”, and work with the Government to apply any specific risk-based and proportionate security measures. David wrote about the bill earlier here.

The Veterans’ Support Bill is being introduced into the house by the Minister for Veterans Affairs, Michael Woodhouse. This bill gives effect to the recommendations of the Law Commission in its 2010 report recommending a new support scheme for veterans of military service to replace the War Pensions Act 1954.

Tags: ,

Metro rates the Auckland MPs

December 6th, 2010 at 2:00 pm by David Farrar

Metro magazine have released their annual ratings for the 43 Auckland MPs. You need to buy the magazine for the full ratings, but some extracts are:

  • Mean rating 4.5/10
  • Averages per party are 5.7 Maori, 4.8 National, 4.2 Labour, 3.5 ACT and 3.5 Green
  • Top five MPs are Steven Joyce 8.2, John Key 7.8, Phil Goff 7.5, Judith Collins 7.4 and Keith Locke 7.3
  • Bottom two are Chris Carter 0.9 and Ashraf Choudary 1.5
  • Top three National backbenchers are Tau Henare 5.9, Nikki Kaye 5.5 and Sam Lotu-Iiga 4.1
  • Top Labour MPs are Phil Goff 7.5, David Cunliffe 7.1 and Phil Twyford 6.8

Note these are the ratings of the unnamed panel Metro uses, not my own.

Tags: , ,

Subsidised Stomach Stapling

January 25th, 2010 at 11:44 am by David Farrar

The Dom Post reports:

Momentum is building for more public funding for stomach-stapling operations, with at least four MPs showing the benefits of the procedure.

It is understood three National MPs have had the operation, which shrinks the stomach, dulls the appetite and usually leads to weight loss.

Maori Party co-leader Tariana Turia led calls yesterday to boost public funding of the procedure after revealing she had already dropped 13 kilograms and shaken off her diabetes just nine weeks after having the $28,000 operation.

So many MPs have had stomch staples, I’ve quipped to a number of friends that I have found the solution to the MPs travel perks issues.

Instead of MP gaining greater and greater subsidies for international travel as they serve more terms, they should gain greater subsidies for stomach staple operations!

So after one term, an MP gets 25% off a stomach staple, 50% off after two terms, 75% off after three terms and after four terms (by which time the unhealthy lifestyle of an MP will have probably made such operation necessary) they get the operation for free!

And the public would be far happier seeing their MPs get stomach staple operations, than getting subsidised international travel.

I call it a win-win.

Tags: , ,