Howie Tamati seeks Maori Party candidacy

June 30th, 2016 at 9:00 am by David Farrar

Stuff reports:

New Plymouth’s only Maori councillor has signalled a desire to move into national politics.

During Saturday’s Maui Pomare Day celebrations at Waitara’s Owae Marae, Howie Tamati formally announced his intention to seek the candidacy to represent the Maori Party at next year’s general election.

The first step in the process is for Tamati to be selected by the party to be the person who will contest the Te Tai Hauauru seat, a decision which is not likely until the end of the year. At this stage it is unknown how many other candidates he will go up against.

Tamati said he felt it was the “opportune” moment to declare his political ambitions to his people, on his home marae.

In May, Tamati announced he would not seek re-election onto the New Plymouth District Council, 15 years after he was first elected.

Tamati is of course also well known to rugby league fans.

Labour’s Adrian Rurawhe only won the seat by 1,554 votes and has been fairly low profile, so the seat may be competitive.

Maori Party ahead in Te Tai Hauāuru

August 28th, 2014 at 12:00 pm by David Farrar

I’ve blogged at Curiablog the results of a Maori TV poll on Te Tai Hauāuru.

This is the seat held by Tariana Turia. Labour and almost all the pundits have been claiming it will be an easy win for Labour. I’ve never been so sure, as I think personal loyalty to Turia will still play a part in this election – even though she is retiring.

The poll showed the Maori Party candidate ahead by 3%. That shows it will be a close race. With a 500 person sample, it means there is an 81% chance McKenzie is actually leading.

Maori TV are polling all seven Maori seats. Lots of interest in the seats held by Flavell, Sharples (retiring) and Harawira. They may decide who gets to govern!

McKenzie wins Te Tai Hauauru selection

December 8th, 2013 at 12:49 pm by David Farrar

Radio NZ report:

At a hui in Whanganui the party selected Ngati Raukawa treaty negotiator Chris McKenzie to contest the seat held by co-leader Tariana Turia who retires next year. Mr McKenzie has worked in Mrs Turia’s office.

McKenzie has been working for Turia as her senior advisor. Prior to that he was managing director of Raukawa Management Services and lead negotiator for the Raukawa Trust Board. he was originally a teacher, but moved into business and has just completed an MBA.

Te Tai Hauauru candidates

November 26th, 2013 at 12:00 pm by David Farrar

Stuff reports:

Six candidates have put their hands up to replace Maori Party co-leader Tariana Turia at the next election.

The Te Tai Hauauru seat which covers the western parts of the North Island has been held by Turia since 2002, but with her impending retirement, the party is looking for her replacement.

The nominees are Frana Chase, Rahui Katene, James Makowharemahihi, Christopher McKenzie, Amokura Panoho and Pakake Winiata.

Maori Party vice-president Ken Mair said hundreds of party members turned out at the Whangaehu Marae in Whanganui yesterday to hear the six nominees speak and to vote for their preferred candidate.

“We have an extremely talented line up of nominees and it is great to see so many smart, spirited and passionate people put their hand up,” he said.

I would have thought a female candidate is more likely as they also need a new female co-leader.  But of course the co-leader doesn’t have to be in Parliament.

Chase has worked a range of social sector roles such as health, justice and education and is a trustee of various Maori groups. She has seven kids.

Katene is the former MP for Te Tai Tonga.

Makowharemahihi is a JP and has been involved in the Te Kohanga Reo movement> He is a business owner and has held several board roles. Previously a social worker and policy analyst.

McKenzie works for Turia as a Senior Ministerial Advisor. A former treaty claim negotiator.

Panoho specialises in economic development and chairs NZ Maori Tourism. She sued Trevor Mallard and John Tamihere for defamation in 2004 which led to them corecting statements they made about her.

Winiata is the academic head of Te Wananga O Raukawa.

The Maori Seats

November 17th, 2008 at 12:32 pm by David Farrar

Labour won the party vote easily in all seven Maori seats. Their party vote ranged from 45% to 57%, and the Maori Party ranged from 21% to 34%. Waiariki was closest with an 11% gap and Ikaroa-Rawhiti had a 31% gap.

In 2005 Labour ranged from 49% to 58% and Maori Party from 18% to 31% so not much change on the party vote.

National in 2005 got from 2.7% to 7.4% in the Maori seats. In 2008 it was from 5.5% to 10.9% so a very small improvement there.

The electorate votes we start from Te Taik Tokerau in the North. Hone Harawira won it by 3,600 in 2005 over Dover Samuels. This time he has a 5,500 majority.

Pita Sharples evicted John Tamihere from Tamaki Makaurau by 2,100 in 2005 and holds it over Louisa Wall by a massve 6,300.

In Waiariki, Te Ururoa Flavell won by 2,900 in 2005. In 2008 he doubles that to 6,000.

Nanaia Mahuta held onto Tainui by 1,860. The boundary changes to Hauraki-Waikato did not favour her, so she did well to hold on by 1,046.

In Te Tai Hauauru, Tariana Turia won by 5,000 in 2005 and this time he rmajority is almost 7,000.

The big battle was in Ikaroa-Rawhiti. Parekura held off Atareta Poananga by 1,932 in 2005, and Poananga’s former partner, Derek Fox, challenged in 2008. But Fox fell short by 1,609.

Finally in the South, Te Tai Tonga was held by Mahara Okeroa in 2005 by 2,500. New Maori Party candidate Rahui Katene beat him by 684 votes in 2008.