The Kiwiblog 2007 Awards Winners

Over 600 votes cast in just 24 hours.  And we have some winners.  Now remember this is not a scientific poll but a survey of whom readers have rated the best.

MP of the Year

[14%] Helen Clark
[5%] Michael Cullen
[40%] Bill English
[41%] John Key

A not surprising clear preference to National here, with John Key narrowly ahead (just 5 votes in it) of his deputy for MP of the Year.  Their combination seems a winning one to date.

Labour MP of the Year

[23%] Helen Clark
[7%] Michael Cullen
[11%] David Cunliffe
[38%] Phil Goff
[8%] Steve Maharey
[13%] Trevor Mallard

Phil Goff a clear winner as Labour MP of the Year.  Widely regarded as having had an error free year and with the retirement of Maharey and sin binning of Mallard is now the heir apparent.

National MP of the Year

[49%] Bill English
[20%] Chris Finlayson
[31%] John Key

And a landslide win for Bill English as National MP of the Year.  English has impressed many with his dissection of the Electoral Finance Bill.

Minor Party MP of the Year

[25%] Sue Bradford (Green)
[12%] Ron Mark (NZ First)
[35%] Heather Roy (ACT)
[29%] Pita Sharples (Maori)

Heather Roy obviously has won the hearts and minds of many on the right.  However Maori Party co-leader Pita Sharples has almost as many fans, and Sue Bradford also gained an impressive number of votes.
Press Gallery Journalist of the Year

[16%] Jane Clifton
[30%] Colin Espiner
[34%] Fran O’Sullivan
[20%] Audrey Young

Associate press gallery member Fran O’Sullivan’s blunt no nonsense style sees her pip blogging political editor Colin Espiner for 1st place.
Public Servant of the Year

[38%] Kevin Brady
[32%] Erin Leigh
[6%] Hugh Logan
[15%] David McGee
[9%] Ros Noonan

Auditor-General Kevin Brady wins the award for public servant of the year, with whistle-blower Erin Leigh a close second.  Highly respected retiring Clerk of the House David McGee gets a creditable third place.

Kiwiblog will write to the winners informing them of their cyber-awards.

Comments (22)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment

%d bloggers like this: