Who won what

It is hard to know who did well at the Qantas Awards as each broadcaster focuses on the awards they won. So as a guide, here are the awards for each channel.

News and Current Affairs


  1. Qantas Best News – One News
  2. Best News or Current Affairs Presenter – Mark Sainsbury (Close Up)
  3. TV Journalist of the Year – Mike Valintine and Hunter Wells (Sunday)
  4. Best News Reporting – Lisa Owen (One News)
  5. Best Current Affairs Reporting for a daily programme  – Robyn Janes and Steve Hopkins (Close Up)
  6. Best Current Affairs Series  – Sunday
  7. Best News Camera – Jared Mason (One News and Close Up)
  8. Investigation of the Year – Mike Valintine and Hunter Wells (Sunday)


  1. Best Current Affairs Reporting for a weekly programme or one off current affairs special – Sarah Hall, Paula Penfold, George Murahidy and Catherine Hallinan (60 Minutes)
  2. Best Current Affairs Camera – George Murahidy (60 Minutes)
  3. Best News and Current Affairs Editing – Paul Enticott (60 Minutes)

So a pretty compelling victory for TV1 over TV3. Now for General TV:

  1. TV1 – 7 awards
  2. TV2 – 4 awards
  3. TV3 – 12 awards
  4. C4 – 2 awards
  5. Maori TV – 1 award
  6. TVNZ6 – 1 award

TV3 takes aways the honours here – winning more than TV1 and TV2 combined.

Comments (9)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment