How they voted on the alcohol purchase age

Thanks again to the very efficient Table Office in the Office of the Clerk for the voting details. I’ve combined the votes into the table below.

All 121 MPs voted, which is good. The first vote was 50 for 18, 38 for 20 and 33 for split age. Of the 33 for split age, 18 then voted for 18 and 15 voted for 20 making it 68 to 53.

The four categories of votes are below:

Voted 18

Ardern, Jacinda
Ardern, Shane
Barry, Maggie
Bennett, David
Bennett, Paula
Browning, Steffan
Carter, David
Chauvel, Charles
Clendon, David
Curran, Clare
Dean, Jacqui
Delahunty, Catherine
Dunne, Peter
Dyson, Ruth
Faafoi, Kris
Fenton, Darien
Finlayson, Christopher
Genter, Julie Anne
Hague, Kevin
Henare, Tau
Hipkins, Chris
Horomia, Parekura
Hughes, Gareth
Huo, Raymond
Hutchison, Paul
Jones, Shane
Kaye, Nikki
King, Colin
Lee, Melissa
Logie, Jan
Mackey, Moana
Mallard, Trevor
Mathers, Mojo
McCully, Murray
McKelvie, Ian
Norman, Russel
O’Connor, Simon
Prasad, Rajen
Robertson, Grant
Roche, Denise
Ross, Jami-Lee
Sage, Eugenie
Smith, Lockwood
Tirikatene, Rino
Turei, Metiria
Walker, Holly
Wilkinson, Kate
Williamson, Maurice
Woodhouse, Michael
Woods, Megan

Voted Split then 18

Banks, John
Brownlee, Gerry
Cunliffe, David
Dalziel, Lianne
English, Bill
Goldsmith, Paul
Groser, Tim
Guy, Nathan
Joyce, Steven
Key, John
Lees-Galloway, Iain
Parker, David
Shearer, David
Smith, Nick
Tisch, Lindsay
Turia, Tariana
Twyford, Phil
Wagner, Nicky

Voted Split then 20

Adams, Amy
Borrows, Chester
Clark, David
Coleman, Jonathan
Collins, Judith
Goff, Phil
Goodhew, Jo
Heatley, Phil
Little, Andrew
McClay, Todd
O’Connor, Damien
Sharples, Pita
Street, Maryan
Tremain, Chris
Young, Jonathan

Voted 20

Auchinvole, Chris
Bakshi, Kanwaljit Singh
Blue, Jackie
Bridges, Simon
Calder, Cam
Cosgrove, Clayton
Flavell, Te Ururoa
Foss, Craig
Graham, Kennedy
Harawira, Hone
Hayes, John
Horan, Brendan
King, Annette
Lotu-Iiga, Peseta Sam
Macindoe, Tim
Mahuta, Nanaia
Martin, Tracey
Mitchell, Mark
Moroney, Sue
Ngaro, Alfred
O’Rourke, Denis
Parata, Hekia
Peters, Winston
Prosser, Richard
Robertson, Ross
Roy, Eric
Ryall, Tony
Sabin, Mike
Shanks, Katrina
Simpson, Scott
Sio, Su’a William
Stewart, Barbara
Taylor, Asenati
Tolley, Anne
Upston, Louise
Wall, Louisa
Williams, Andrew
Yang, Jian

In a separate post I’ll do an analysis of the voting by demographics.

Comments (9)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment