The members’ bill ballot

The ballot for three bills takes place at midday. The bills in the ballot are:

1. Accident Compensation (Recent Migrants and Returning New Zealanders) Amendment Bill – Melissa Lee

2. Care of Children Law Reform Bill – Jacinda Ardern

3. Children’s Commissioner (Reporting on Legislation) Amendment Bill – Dr Rajen Prasad

4. Children, Young Persons and Their Families (Parent and Guardian’s Responsibilities) Amendment Bill – Mike Sabin

5. Climate Change (New Zealand Superannuation Fund) Amendment Bill – Eugenie Sage

6. Climate Change Response (Low Carbon Economic Development) Amendment Bill – Gareth Hughes

7. Commerce (Code of Practice for Supermarket Grocery Suppliers) Amendment Bill – Steffan Browning

8. Conservation Natural Heritage Protection Bill – Jacqui Dean

9. Consumers’ Right to Know (Country of Origin of Food) Bill – Mojo Mathers

10. Coroners Amendment Bill – Hon Lianne Dalziel

11. Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance (Break Fees Disclosure) Amendment Bill – Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga

12. Criminal Proceeds (Recovery) Act 2009 (Application to Casinos) Amendment Bill – Metiria Turei

13. Customs and Excise (Prohibition of Imports Made by Slave Labour) Amendment Bill – Hon Annette King

14. Dairy Industry Restructuring Amendment Bill – Hon Damien O’Connor

15. Defence (Overseas Deployments) Amendment Bill – Iain Lees-Galloway

16. Disputes Tribunals Amendment Bill – Mark Mitchell

17. Education (Community Representation on Polytechnic Councils) Amendment Bill – Hon Nanaia Mahuta

18. Electoral (Entrenchment of Maori Representation) Amendment Bill – Hon Parekura Horomia

19. Electricity Industry Act (Energy Efficiency) Amendment Bill – Dr David Clark

20. Electricity Industry Act (Smart Meters) Amendment Bill – Moana Mackey

21. Electricity (SuperGold Cardholder Discount) Bill – Andrew Williams

22. Employment Relations (Protection of Young Workers) Amendment Bill – Rino Tirikatene

23. Employment Relations (Statutory Minimum Redundancy Entitlements) Amendment Bill – Sue Moroney

24. Employment Relations (Triangular Employment) Amendment Bill – Andrew Little

25. End of Life Choice Bill – Hon Maryan Street

26. Energy Efficiency and Conservation (Warm Healthy Rentals) Amendment Bill – Holly Walker

27. Environmental Protection Authority (Protection of Environment) Amendment Bill – Louisa Wall

28. Environmental Reporting Bill – Grant Robertson

29. Equal Pay Amendment Bill – Jan Logie

30. Family Proceedings (Paternity Orders and Parentage Tests) Amendment Bill – Nicky Wagner

31. Financial Assistance for Live Organ Donors Bill – Michael Woodhouse

32. Fisheries (Precautionary Approach) Amendment Bill – Kevin Hague

33. Immigration (Migrant Levy) Amendment Bill – Raymond Huo

34. Income Tax (Universalisation of In-work Tax Credit) Amendment Bill – Catherine Delahunty

35. International Non-Aggression and Lawful Use of Force (Implementation of Amendment to Statute of Rome) Bill – Dr Kennedy Graham

36. Keep Kiwibank Bill – Hon Clayton Cosgrove

37. Kiwi Jobs Bill – Hon Shane Jones

38. Land Transport (Admissibility of Evidential Breath Tests) Amendment Bill – Scott Simpson

39. Land Transport (Safer Alcohol Limits for Driving) Amendment Bill – Phil Twyford

40. Local Electoral (Enhancement of Transparency) Amendment Bill – Hon David Cunliffe

41. Local Electoral (Finance) Amendment Bill – Denise Roche

42. Local Government (Council-Controlled Organisations) Amendment Bill – Darien Fenton

43. Local Government (Public Libraries) Amendment Bill – Dr Megan Woods

44. Local Government (Salary Reform) Amendment Bill – Denis O’Rourke

45. Maritime Transport Amendment Bill – Hon Phil Goff

46. Members of Parliament (Code of Ethical Conduct) Bill – HV Ross Robertson

47. Minimum Wage (Contractor Remuneration) Amendment Bill – Hon David Parker

48. New Zealand Bill of Rights Amendment Bill – David Clendon

49. New Zealand Flag Bill – Charles Chauvel

50. New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Change of Electoral System for District Health Boards) Amendment Bill – Dr Jian Yang

51. Oaths and Declarations (Members of Parliament) Amendment Bill – Su’a William Sio

52. Oaths and Declarations (Upholding the Treaty of Waitangi) Amendment Bill – Te Ururoa Flavell

53. Overseas Investment (Owning our Own Rural Land) Amendment Bill – David Shearer

54. Plain Language Bill – Chris Hipkins

55. Public Broadcasting Foundation (TV 7) Bill – Clare Curran

56. Public Finance (Sustainable Development Indicators) Amendment Bill – Julie Anne Genter

57. Reserve Bank of New Zealand (Amending Primary Function of Bank) Amendment Bill – Rt Hon Winston Peters

58. Reserve Bank of New Zealand (Essential Financial Services) Amendment Bill – Dr Russel Norman

59. Resource Management (Requiring Authorities) Amendment Bill – Hon Ruth Dyson

60. Secondhand Dealers and Pawnbrokers (Scrap Metal Dealers) Amendment Bill – Tim Macindoe

61. Sentencing (Reparation) Amendment Bill – Kris Faafoi

62. Sentencing (Short-sharp Sentences) Amendment Bill – Le’au Asenati Lole-Taylor

63. Shop Trading Hours Act Repeal (Shopping Centre Opening Hours) Amendment Bill – Hon Trevor Mallard

64. Summary Offences (Possession of Hand-held Lasers) Amendment Bill – Dr Cam Calder

65. Summary Proceedings (Warrant for Detention Conditions) Amendment Bill – Jonathan Young

66. SuperGold Health Check Bill – Barbara Stewart

67. Wild Animal Control (Increased Fines and Sentence of Imprisonment) Amendment Bill – Ian McKelvie

All 34 Labour MPs have a bill in the ballot.

Hat Tip: Chris Hipkins

UPDATE: The three bills selected are:

  1. Local Government (Council-Controlled Organisations) Amendment Bill – Darien Fenton
  2. Reserve Bank of New Zealand (Amending Primary Function of Bank) Amendment Bill – Rt Hon Winston Peters
  3. Income Tax (Universalisation of In-work Tax Credit) Amendment Bill – Catherine Delahunty

Fenton’s bill would define port companies (that mare majority Council owned) as Council-controlled organisations for the purpose of the OIA etc. I’m not aware of the rationale for why they are excluded, so this bill may be fine.

The Peters’ bill is to amend the Reserve Bank Act, so we have higher inflation.

Delahunty’s bill will be the really interesting one. It legislates for the $60 a week in-work tax credit to be extended to parents who are on benefits and not working. This has been long-standing Green policy, but after resisting it in Government was Labour policy in 2011. It was hugely unpopular and it will be a fascinating defining issue for David Shearer as to whether Labour keeps their 2011 policy, or ditches it. They would rather not had to decide until 2014, but this bill will force them to confront this issue.

If Labour vote for this bill, it will be a huge weapon against them in 2014. If they ditch their policy, their activist base could go even more feral, coming on the back of the sickness beneficiary comments.

Fenton’s bill may pose the biggest challenge to the Government, if  they oppose it, as their coalittion partners could support it.

The Peters’ bill is unlikely to pass first reading.

Comments (17)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment