1st members’ bill ballot

A ballot for three members’ bills will occur on Wednesday. The bills in the ballot are:

  Bill Title Member Name
1 Accident (Workplace Injury Prevention) Amendment Bill Marja Lubeck
2 Accident Compensation (Recent Migrants and Returning New Zealanders) Amendment Bill Melissa Lee
3 Age of Majority (Attainment at 18 Years) Amendment Bill Brett Hudson
4 Celebrant Eligibility Expansion Bill Chris Bishop
5 Children, Young Persons, and Their Families (Parent’s and Guardian’s Responsibility) Amendment Bill Barbara Kuriger
6 Children, Young Persons, and Their Families (Youth Justice Demerit Points) Amendment Bill Darroch Ball
7 Companies (Employees Liquidation Cap) Amendment Bill Jo Luxton
8 Credit Reforms (Responsible Lending) Bill Priyanca Radhakrishnan
9 Crimes (Offence of Blasphemous Libel) Amendment Bill Angie Warren-Clark
10 Education (Enrolment Priorities) Amendment Bill Jamie Strange
11 Education (Funding for School Food and Allied Programmes) Amendment Bill Jan Logie
12 Education (National Education and Learning Priorities) Amendment Bill Jan Tinetti
13 Education (Protecting Teacher Title) Amendment Bill Jenny Marcroft
14 Election Access Fund Bill Chlöe Swarbrick
15 Electricity Transparency Bill Raymond Huo
16 Electronic Compliance with Reporting Requirements Bill Adrian Rurawhe
17 Employment Relations (Protecting Transport Workers) Amendment Bill Virginia Andersen
18 Employment Relations (Rates of Pay in Collective Agreements) Amendment Bill Tamati Coffey
19 Employment Relations (Triangular Employment) Amendment Bill Kieran McAnulty
20 Fair Trading (Oppressive Contracts) Amendment Bill Dr Duncan Webb
21 Family Proceedings (Paternity Orders and Parentage Tests) Amendment Bill Sarah Dowie
22 Income Tax (Clean Transport FBT Exclusions) Amendment Bill Gareth Hughes
23 International Non-Aggression and Lawful Use of Force (Implementation of Amendment to Statute of Rome) Bill Golriz Ghahraman
24 Kermadec/Rangitāhua Ocean Sanctuary Bill Hon Dr Nick Smith
25 Kirpan Authorisation Bill Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi
26 KiwiFund Bill Fletcher Tabuteau
27 Land Transport (Random Oral Fluid Testing) Amendment Bill Alastair Scott
28 Land Transport (Tourist Driver Rental Vehicle) Amendment Bill Clayton Mitchell
29 Land Transport (Wheel Clamping Protection) Amendment Bill Greg O’Connor
30 Litter (Increased Infringement Fee) Amendment Bill Hon Scott Simpson
31 Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009 (Discipline over Mayoral Office Expenditure) Amendment Bill Hon Paul Goldsmith
32 Local Government (Four Well-beings) Amendment Bill Paul Eagle
33 Local Government (Salary Moderation) Amendment Bill Kiritapu Allan
34 Military Decorations and Distinctive Badges (Modernisation) Amendment Bill Hon Mark Mitchell
35 Oaths and Declarations (Members of Parliament) Amendment Bill Anahila Kanongata’a-Suisuiki
36 Parental Leave and Employment Protection (Shared Leave) Amendment Bill Hon Amy Adams
37 Plain Language Bill Michael Wood
38 Sale and Supply of Alcohol (Renewal of Licences) Amendment Bill Louisa Wall
39 Secondhand Dealers and Pawnbrokers (Electronic Records) Amendment Bill Andrew Bayly
40 Social Security (Child Disability Allowance Payable Overseas to Defence Force Members) Amendment Bill Simon O’Connor
41 Social Security (Exemption for Ex Gratia and Compensation Payments) Amendment Bill Willow-Jean Prime
42 Social Security (Medical Practitioner Certificate for Supported Living Payment) Amendment Bill Rino Tirikatene
43 Social Security (Pathway to Employment) Amendment Bill Hon Ruth Dyson
44 Social Security (Principles) Amendment Bill Poto Williams
45 Social Security (Removing Disincentive to Training) Amendment Bill Dr Deborah Russell
46 Tattoo (Parental Consent) Bill Jo Hayes
47 Te rā o Parihaka Bill Marama Davidson
48 Transparency in Supply Chains Bill Dr Liz Craig


The number of bills by party are:

  • Labour: 24/26
  • National: 15/56
  • Greens: 5/5
  • NZ First 4/5

National MPs who were Ministers would not have had bills already prepared, hence why so few are in the ballot. I expect that by early next year National will have over 50 bills in the ballot.

Once every National MP has a bill in the ballot, they should have their bills drawn around 60% of the time.

%d bloggers like this: