Tenure of post WWII Australian PMs

Fascinating to look at the length of tenure of Australian PM since WWII:

  1. Robert Menzies 16 years (retired)
  2. Harold Holt 2 years (died)
  3. John Gorton 3 years (rolled)
  4. Billy McMahon 2 years (defeated)
  5. Gough Whitlam 3 years (defeated/sacked)
  6. Malcolm Fraser 8 years (defeated)
  7. Bob Hawke 9 years (rolled)
  8. Paul Keating 4 years (defeated)
  9. John Howard 12 years (defeated)
  10. Kevin Rudd 2.5 years (rolled)
  11. Julia Gillard 3 years (rolled)
  12. Kevin Rudd 0.25 years (defeated)
  13. Tony Abbott 2 years (rolled)

So you had the Menzies era, then a series of short-term PMs. Then from Fraser to Howard you have huge stability, and since Howard no Prime Minister elected at one election has survived until the next!

Comments (15)

Login to comment or vote

Add a Comment

%d bloggers like this: